Kritzer, Testa, Walsh, Mercurio and Beguelin Among NYMF "Best of the Fest" Winners

By Adam Hetrick
30 Oct 2009

Judas & Me star Leslie Kritzer
Judas & Me star Leslie Kritzer
Photo by Aubrey Reuben

My Scary Girl, Fat Camp, Under Fire and Academy are among the musicals that will be presented with the New York Musical Theatre Festival's "Best of the Fest" Awards on Nov. 22.

Presented at the Edison Ballroom at 8:30 PM, the evening celebrates the musicals presented during the NYMF 2009, and will also recognize the special efforts of NY1 "On Stage" and Sh-K-Boom and Ghostlight Records.

The awards ceremony will feature selections from the winning NYMF shows and boast special performances by Tony winners Alice Ripley and Tom Kitt, as well as Tony nominee Gavin Creel, Sherie Renee Scott and Greg Naughton.

The 2009 "Best of the Fest" NYMF Awards in Excellence winners follow:

Outstanding New Musical: My Scary Girl by Kyoung-Ae Kang and Will Aronson; with honorable mention to Academy by John Mercurio; and Judas & Me by Chad Beguelin and Matthew Sklar.

"Best of the Fest" Audience Prize: Fat Camp by Randy Blair, Timothy Michael Drucker and Matthew roi Berger; with Runner Up: Fantasy Football by David Ingber.

Theater for the American Musical Prize: Under Fire by Barry Harman and Grant Sturiale.

Excellence in Writing: Music: John Mercurio, Academy; with honorable mention to Allan Harris, Cross That River; Michael Holland, Hurricane; and Will Aronson, My Scary Girl.

Excellence in Writing: Lyrics Chad Beguelin, Judas & Me; with honorable mention to John Mercurio, Academy; David Eric Davis, F#@king Up Everything; and David Lefort Nugent, Open The Dark Door.

Excellence in Writing: Book: Sam Forman and David Eric Davis, F#@king Up Everything; with honorable mention to Chad Beguelin, Judas & Me; Kyoung-Ae Kang, My Scary Girl; and Barry Harman, Under Fire.

Excellence in Direction: Michael Bush, Hurricane; with honorable mention to John Carrafa, Academy; Alex Timbers, Fat Camp; and Jung Joo Byun, My Scary Girl.

Excellence in Choreography: Connor Gallagher, Fat Camp; with honorable mention to Daryl Gray, Darren Lee and Shea Sullivan, Andy Warhol Was Right; and Michael Blevins, Count To Ten.

Outstanding Overall Design: Hurricane (Christopher Akerlind, sets and lighting; David Margolin Lawson, sound; Karen Ann Ledger, costumes; Edward J. Wilson, hair and wigs); with honorable mention to Judas & Me (Susan Barras, sets; Michael Gottlieb, lighting; David A. Arnold, sound; Bobby Pearce, costumes); Max Understood (Caleb Wertenbaker, sets; Justin Townsend, lighting; Michael Rasbury, sound; Clint Ramos, costumes); and Seeing Stars (Michael P. Kramer, sets; Martin E. Vreeland, lights; Stephen Kunken, sound; David Toser, costumes).

Outstanding Ensemble Performance: Academy (Steven Kane, Corey Boardman, Wilson Bridges, Antonio Addeo, Jason Edward Cook, F. Michael Haynie, Lyle Colby Mackston, Joseph Medeiros, and Gabriel Violett); with honorable mention to the casts of F#@king Up Everything; Marrying Meg; and My Scary Girl.

Outstanding Individual Performance: Jin Ui Bang (My Scary Girl), Valerie Kimani (Mo Faya), Cale Krise (Fat Camp), Leslie Kritzer (Judas & Me), Liesl Lar (Anjou), Paul Louis Lessard (Open The Dark Door), Soara-Joye Ross (Cross That River), Marlon Sherman (Max Understood), Mary Testa (All Fall Down), Barbara Walsh (Judas & Me) and Noah Weisberg (F#@king Up Everything).

The gala evening will begin with cocktails at 6:30 PM, followed by dinner at 7:30 PM and the 8:30 PM awards presentation. A VIP after party follows the event at 10 PM.

For tickets phone (212) 664-0979 ext. 12 or e-mail