LuPone Sings of Matters of the Heart at LCT, Beginning Oct. 15

By Robert Simonson
15 Oct 2000

Lincoln Center Theater was virtually Patti LuPone's home in the 1980s when she starred in the long-running revival of Anything Goes. Now the singer and actress returns to the Vivian Beaumont with her new concert, "Matters of the Heart." The show will play Sunday and Monday evenings (the off-nights of Contact), beginning Oct. 15 and ending Dec. 17 -- a total of 19 performances.



Lincoln Center Theater was virtually Patti LuPone's home in the 1980s when she starred in the long-running revival of Anything Goes. Now the singer and actress returns to the Vivian Beaumont with her new concert, "Matters of the Heart." The show will play Sunday and Monday evenings (the off-nights of Contact), beginning Oct. 15 and ending Dec. 17 -- a total of 19 performances.

The show shares its title with a concert CD released in 1999. LuPone has performed the show across the U.S, and in Australia and at the Donmar Warehouse in London. The song list features everything from Rodgers and Hammerstein ("I'm In Love with A Wonderful Guy") to Randy Newman ("Real Emotional Girl") to Stephen Sondheim ("Being Alive") to John Bucchino ("Playbill") to Judy Collins ("My Father") to Gilbert O'Sullivan ("Alone Again (Naturally)"). The linking theme is love and the affairs of the heart.

The show is conceived and directed by Scott Wittman, with musical direction and arrangements by Dick Gallagher LuPone's Broadway credits include Evita, David Mamet's The Old Neighborhood, Terrence McNally's Master Class and Patti LuPone on Broadway.

The performance schedule is as follows:

Sun., Oct. 15 at 8 PM
Mon., Oct. 16 at 8 PM
Sun., Oct. 22 at 8 PM
Mon., Oct. 23 at 7 PM
Sun., Oct. 29 at 8 PM
Sun., Nov. 5 at 8 PM
Mon., Nov. 6 at 8 PM
Sun., Nov. 12 at 8 PM
Mon., Nov. 13 at 7 PM (Opening)
Sun., Nov 19 at 8 PM
Mon., Nov. 20 at 8 PM
Sun., Nov. 26 at 3 PM and 8 PM
Sun., Dec. 3 at 3 PM and 8 PM
Sun., Dec. 10 at 3 PM and 8 PM
Sun. Dec. 17 at 3 PM and 8 PM

Tickets go on sale Sept. 9. For more information, call (212) 239-6200.