59th Annual Obie Awards Presented May 19; Estelle Parsons Honored, Cast of Fun Home Performs

Tamara Tunie and Hamish Linklater co-host the Village Voice's 59th Annual Obie Awards May 19 at 8 PM at Webster Hall.

Beth Malone, Sydney Lucas and Alexandra Socha
Beth Malone, Sydney Lucas and Alexandra Socha (Photo by Joan Marcus)

The Lifetime Achievement Award Obie will be presented to Academy Award winner Estelle Parsons, most recently seen on Broadway in The Velocity of Autumn. Other award winners will be announced at the ceremony.

Presenters for the evening include Betsy Aidem, Harvey Fierstein, Lena Hall, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Andy Karl, David Bar Katz, Cristin Milioti, Kelli O'Hara, Lily Rabe and Stephen Trask.

Attendees will also be treated to a performance from the critically acclaimed Public Theater musical Fun Home.

Michael Feingold, critic and longtime judge of the awards, serves as Obie Chairman. The Voice’s present drama critic, Alexis Soloski, again serves as secretary to the committee. The following guest judges join Feingold and Soloski on the Obie committee: Kirsten Childs, Nicky Paraiso, Tonya Pinkins, Michael Sommers and Rick Sordelet.

Founded in 1955 by Voice cultural editor Jerry Tallmer, The Village Voice Obie Awards annually honor the best of Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway. "Unlike most theater awards," according to press notes, "the Obies do not publicize nominations or employ rigid categories. In the conviction that creativity is not competitive, the judges select outstanding artists and productions and may even invent new categories to reward artistic merit."

Tickets for the Obie Awards are available by visiting obies.villagevoice.com/2014.