Adam Rapp, Lois Smith, [title of show], Sherie Rene Scott Among 2006 Obie Award Winners

The 51st Annual Village Voice Obie Awards, a major honor in the Off-Broadway community, were handed out the evening of May 15 at the Skirball Center on the campus of New York University.

Obie Award winner Lois Smith.
Obie Award winner Lois Smith. (Photo by Aubrey Reuben)

Among the winners — picked by a panel of judges without the fuss and suspense of nominees — were actress Christine Ebersole for her work in Grey Gardens (she played two characters); the creators of the post-modern musical comedy about musicals, [title of show]; director Daniel Sullivan for the New York premiere of David Hare's Stuff Happens; actress Lois Smith for The Trip to Bountiful; playwright Rolin Jones for The Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow; playwright Adam Rapp for Red Light Winter; the creators of the AIDS-focused play, In the Continuum; and more.

The judges for this season were Lynn Nottage, Didi O'Connell, David Herskovits, Eduardo Machado, Marc Robinson, Voice critics Michael Feingold, Alexis Soloski and Village Voice theatre editor and Obie chairman Jorge Morales.

The highlight of the awards was the Lifetime Achievement honor given to academic Eric Bentley, 90, for his untiring service to the theatre.

Here are the recipients of the 2006 Obie Awards:


  • S. Epatha Merkerson for her performance in Birdie Blue
  • Ari Fliakos for his performance in Poor Theater: A Series of Simulacra
  • Scott Shepherd for his performance in Poor Theater: A Series of Simulacra
  • Gary Wilmes for his performance in Red Light Winter
  • Dana Ivey for her performance in Mrs. Warren's Profession
  • Christine Ebersole for her performance in Grey Gardens
  • Euan Morton for his performance in Measure for Pleasure
  • Lois Smith for her performance in The Trip to Bountiful
  • Edwin Lee Gibson for his performance in The Seven
  • Sherie Rene Scott for her performance in Landscape of the Body
  • Julie White for her performance in The Little Dog Laughed
  • Peter Francis James for his performance in Stuff Happens
  • Byron Jennings for his performance in Stuff Happens
  • Marin Ireland for her performance in Cyclone
  • Michael Cumpsty for his performance in Hamlet
  • Reed Birney for Sustained Excellence of Performance
  • Meg MacCary for her performance in What Then DIRECTION

  • Daniel Sullivan for his direction of Stuff Happens
  • John Clancy for Sustained Excellence of Direction PLAYWRITING

  • Rolin Jones for The Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow
  • Martin McDonagh for The Lieutenant of Inishmore DESIGN

  • Anita Yavich for Sustained Excellence of Costume Design
  • Allen Moyer for Sustained Excellence of Set Design
  • NTUSA for Design of Abacus Black Strikes Now SPECIAL CITATIONS

  • Nikkole Salter - In the Continuum
  • Danai Gurira - In the Continuum
  • Robert O'Hara - In the Continuum
  • Adam Rapp - Red Light Winter
  • Jane Moss, Jon Nakagawa, Ricky Ian Gordon and Doug Varone - Orpheus and Euridyce
  • Hunter Bell, Jeff Bowen & Michael Berresse - [title of show] THE ROSS WETZSTEON MEMORIAL AWARD ($2,000 Grant)

  • Ross Wetzsteon Memorial Award- Soho Repertory Theater LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT


  • Edge Theater Company ($3,000)
  • Red Bull Theater ($3,000)
  • Billie Holiday Theatre ($3,000) EMERGING PLAYWRIGHT GRANTS

  • Rinne Groff ($1,000)
  • Neena Beber ($1,000)