Audra McDonald's New Album, "Go Back Home" Sets May Release; PBS Concert Will Follow

"Go Back Home," the fifth studio album from five-time Tony Award-winning actress Audra McDonald, will be released May 21 from Nonesuch Records.

Audra McDonald
Audra McDonald (Photo by Michael Wilson)

The title is inspired by the plaintive Kander and Ebb song from the Tony-nominated musical The Scottsboro Boys, which is featured on the album. The new release promises a selection of composers who figure into McDonald's career, including Adam Guettel, Michael John LaChiusa, Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II, and Stephen Sondheim.

McDonald will also bring her voice to the work of new songwriters including Adam Gwon, Marcy Heisler and Zina Goldrich, and Will Reynolds. The album is produced by Doug Petty and has musical direction by Andy Einhorn, who conducted the ensemble.

In addition, PBS will film McDonald's May 9 Avery Fisher Hall outing,  Audra McDonald In Concert: Go Back Home, which will be broadcast May 24 as part of "Live From Lincoln Center." Songs from the album will be featured.

The track list for "Go Back Home" follows:

"Go Back Home"
From The Scottsboro Boys
Music and lyrics by John Kander and Fred Ebb "The Glamorous Life"
From the film A Little Night Music
Music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim

Lyrics by Marcy Heisler/music by Zina Goldrich

"First You Dream"
From Steel Pier
Music by John Kander/lyrics by Fred Ebb

Music by Will Reynolds/text by Edna St. Vincent Millay

"Migratory V"
From Saturn Returns
Music and lyrics by Adam Guettel

Music and lyrics by Michael John LaChiusa, inspired by Marlene Dietrich's "ABC"

"Married Love"
Music and lyrics by Michael John LaChiusa, inspired by Marlene Dietrich's "ABC"

"I'll Be Here"
From Ordinary Days
Music and yrics by Adam Gwon

"Some Days"
Music by Steven Marzullo/text by James Baldwin

From The Sound of Music
Music by Richard Rodgers/lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II

"Make Someone Happy"
From Do Re Mi
Music by Jule Styne/lyrics by Betty Comden & Adolph Green

The album is currently available for pre-order from Nonesuch Records. Pre-orders include an instant download of the title track plus a limited-edition autographed print. McDonald's theatre recordings are also available at

McDonald earned Tony Awards for her work in The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess, Carousel, Master Class, Ragtime and A Raisin in the Sun. Her work on stage also includes Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny with Patti LuPone, as well as Tony-nominated performances in 110 in the Shade and Marie Christine. On screen she has appeared in the television adaptations of "A Raisin in the Sun," "Wit" and "Annie." She is known to television audiences for "Private Practice" and "Grey's Anatomy."

Her solo releases also include "Way Back to Paradise" (1998), "How Glory Goes" (2000), "Happy Songs" (2002) and "Build a Bridge" (2006).

Listen to an exclusive track from "Go Back Home" below!