Big River Cast Among Tony Honorees; Design Awards to Double for 2005

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
23 Sep 2004

Tyrone Giordano and Michael McElroy in Broadway's <I>Big River.</I>
Tyrone Giordano and Michael McElroy in Broadway's Big River.
Photo by Joan Marcus

Nancy Coyne, Frances and Harry Edelstein, Martha Swope and the cast of Roundabout Theatre's Big River revival are among the announced recipients of the 2004 Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre. The Tony committee also announced new rules for the 2005 Awards.

The American Theatre Wing and the League of American Theatres and Producers have bestowed the 2004 Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre to the ensemble cast of the American Sign Language adaptation of Big River, Nancy Coyne of the Serino Coyne advertising agency, restauranteurs Frances and Harry Edelstein of the Edison Café and Vincent Sardi of Sardi’s as well as Broadway production photographer Martha Swope.

The Honors will be presented to the recipients Oct. 26 at a noon ceremony at Tavern on the Green.

Established in 1990, The Tony Honors have been presented annually by the Tony Administration Committee to "institutions, individuals and/or organizations that have demonstrated extraordinary achievement in theatre, but are not eligible in any of the established Tony Award categories." In 2003, a new tradition began whereby the Tony Honors would be announced and presented in a separate ceremony to allow the honorees their due moment.

The Tony Administration Committee have also announced rule changes for the forthcoming 2005 Tony Awards:



  • The design awards (Set, Costume and Lighting Design) will now differentiate for Best Design of a Musical and Best Design for a Play, doubling the prizes to six awards.




  • Duplicate Tony Award medallions for Best Revivals of a Musical and Play will now also be given to authors and composers or their representatives.




  • Duplicate medallions will also be presented for individuals integrally involved in the creation the Special Theatrical Event winner.

    Visit for more information.