Bill T. Jones, John Kander and More Receive National Medal of Arts; Live Stream Starts at 3 PM ET

President Barack Obama presents the National Medals of Arts July 28 at 3 PM ET in an East Room ceremony at the White House.

John Kander
John Kander (Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN)

The medals are given to individuals or groups in recognition of their contributions to the excellence, growth, support and availability of the arts in the United States.

"Whether its animation or architecture, writing or music, these artists' creativity and passion have made an enormous impact on our nation. I join the President in congratulating them and celebrating the arts in our country," NEA chairman Jane Chu said in a previous statement.

The official citations for the 2013 National Medal of Arts recipients are:

Julia Alvarez, novelist, poet, and essayist

Brooklyn Academy of Music, presenter

Joan Harris, arts patron

Bill T. Jones, dancer and choreographer

John Kander, musical theater composer (Cabaret, The Scottsboro Boys)

Jeffrey Katzenberg, director and CEO of DreamWorks

Maxine Hong Kingston, writer

Albert Maysles, documentary filmmaker

Linda Ronstadt, musician

James Turrell, visual artist

The 2013 National Humanities Medals are presented at the same ceremony. The event is available for live streaming at

The National Endowment for the Arts manages the nomination process on behalf of the White House. Each year, the Arts Endowment seeks nominations from individuals and organizations across the country. Visit for more information.