Billy Crystal, Jim Dale, Kevin Spacey, Michael Urie and More Among Nominees for United Solo Special Award

United Solo Theatre Festival, the world’s largest solo theatre fest, has announced nominees for its United Solo Special Award, which recognizes artists of significant achievements in the solo theatre.

Billy Crystal
Billy Crystal (Photo by Carol Rosegg)

This year's nominees include:

Hannah Cabell in Grounded
Billy Crystal in 700 Sundays
Jim Dale in Just Jim Dale
Ruben Santiago-Hudson in How I Learned What I Learned
Kevin Spacey in Clarence Darrow
John Douglas Thompson in Satchmo at the Waldorf
Michael Urie in Buyer and Cellar

Last year's United Solo Special Award went to Fiona Shaw; previous recipients include Anna Deavere Smith, Patti LuPone and John Leguizamo.

The winner of the 2014 United Solo Special Award will be announced at the Festival’s Closing Gala Nov. 23 at Theatre Row in New York.

United Solo celebrates its fifth anniversary this season, with over 130 solo productions set to be presented at Theatre Row on 42nd Street between Sept. 18-Nov. 23.