Chalk, Hill, Johansson, Ngaujah, Redmayne, Urie and More Win Theatre World Awards

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
13 May 2010

The winners of the 66th Annual Theatre World Awards — honoring performers making their New York stage debuts on or Off-Broadway — were announced May 13.

Theatre World Award winners for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performances during the 2009-2010 theatrical season follow:

Nina Arianda, Venus in Fur

Chris Chalk, Fences

Bill HeckThe Orphans' Home Cycle

Jon Michael Hill, Superior Donuts

Scarlett Johansson, A View from the Bridge

Keira Keeley, The Glass Menagerie

Sahr Ngaujah, FELA!

Eddie RedmayneRed

Andrea Riseborough, The Pride

Heidi Schreck, Circle Mirror Transformation

Stephanie Umoh, Ragtime

Michael Urie,The Temperamentals

The Theatre World Awards ceremony will be held in Manhattan June 8 at New World Stages from 2-4 PM ET. Theatre critic-writer Peter Filichia will host the annual event; Barry Keating will direct.

Past winners will perform and also present awards at the ceremony. Presenters will be announced late May.

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are among the oldest theatrical awards. Traditionally, a committee of theatre writers chooses six men and six women. On occasion, the awards bestow a Special Theatre World Award on "performers, casts or others who have made a particularly lasting impression on the New York theatre scene," as stated on the official Theatre World Awards website.

The Theatre World Award winners are chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee, which includes David Cote (Time Out New York, NY1), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (Newark Star-Ledger,, Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin' Broadway), Frank Scheck (The Hollywood Reporter) and Linda Winer (Newsday).

The Theatre World Awards board of directors includes Kati Meister (president), Erin Oestreich (vice-president), Steven Bloom (treasurer), Mary K. Botosan (secretary), Randall Hemming, Barry Keating, Tom Lynch and Jane Stuart.