Clybourne Park Will Open on Broadway at the Walter Kerr Theatre in April

Bruce Norris' Pulitzer Prize-winning play, Clybourne Park, will open on Broadway April 12 at the Walter Kerr Theatre. The date of the first preview performance will be announced shortly.

Crystal A. Dickinson and Annie Parisse in the 2010 Off-Broadway production of Clybourne Park.
Crystal A. Dickinson and Annie Parisse in the 2010 Off-Broadway production of Clybourne Park. (Photo by Joan Marcus)

Pam MacKinnon will direct.

The original cast of the 2010 world premiere Playwrights Horizons production, including Crystal A. Dickinson, Brendan Griffin, Damon Gupton, Christina Kirk, Annie Parisse, Jeremy Shamos and Frank Wood, is expected to make the move to Broadway. That cast is currently performing the acclaimed drama at Center Theater Group’s Mark Taper Forum through Feb. 26.

In Clybourne Park, which also won the Olivier Award for Best New Play, "Norris imagines the history of one of the more important houses in literary history, both before and after it becomes a focal point in Lorraine Hansberry's classic A Raisin in the Sun," according to previous press notes. "In 1959, the house, which is located in a white neighborhood at 406 Clybourne St. in Chicago, is sold to an African-American family (the Younger family in A Raisin in the Sun). Then in 2009 after the neighborhood has changed into an African-American community, the house is sold to a white couple. It is through this prism of property ownership that Norris' lacerating sense of humor dissects race relations and middle class hypocrisies in America."

Clybourne Park features scenic design by Daniel Ostling, costume design by Ilona Somogyi, lighting design by Allen Lee Hughes and sound design by John Gromada. The production stage manager is C.A. Clark.

Other plays by Bruce Norris include The Infidel (2000), Purple Heart (2002), We All Went Down to Amsterdam (2003 Joseph Jefferson Award for Best New Work), The Pain and the Itch (2004 Jefferson Award) and The Unmentionables (2006), all of which premiered at Steppenwolf Theatre. He is the recipient of the 2009 Steinberg Playwright Award, the Whiting Foundation Prize for Drama, and the Kesselring Prize, Honorable Mention. Walter Kerr Theatre is located at 219 West 48th Street.