David Cromer's Heralded Our Town Ends Off-Broadway Run Sept. 12

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
12 Sep 2010

David Cromer
David Cromer
Photo by Carol Rosegg

David Cromer's acclaimed staging of Thornton Wilder's classic Our Town, which stripped the portrait of small-town American life down to its communal essence, concludes its two-year Off-Broadway run Sept. 12 at the Barrow Street Theatre.

Cromer's award-winning staging of Wilder's play began performances on Feb. 17, 2009, with an official opening night on Feb. 26, 2009, when it received rave reviews at the downtown venue. Upon its closing, Our Town played four preview and 644 regular performances.

Our Town went on to win the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Production and Outstanding Direction and an Obie Award for Outstanding Director. This staging became the longest-running production of the play in its 72-year history with its record-breaking 337th performance on Dec. 16, 2009.

Cromer originated the role of the folksy Stage Manager in the Off-Broadway staging, which has also welcomed such actors as Helen Hunt, Michael McKean, Scott Parkinson, Jason Butler Harner, Stephen Kunken and Michael Shannon to the role. Cromer returned to the role for the final weeks.

The current cast of Our Town includes (in alphabetical order) Elizabeth Audley as Mrs. Soames, Jeremy Beiler as Simon Stimson, Robert Beitzel as Howie Newsome, Kati Brazda as Mrs. Webb, Will Brill as Joe Crowell, Jr, Nathan Dame as Sam Craig, Roger E. DeWitt as Joe Stoddard, Ann Dowd as Mrs. Gibbs, Emma Galvin as Rebecca Gibbs, Jennifer Grace as Emily Webb, Mark Hattan as Constable Warren, Jake Horowitz as Wally Webb, David Manis as Mr. Webb, Daniel Marcus as Professor Willard, James McMenamin as George Gibbs, Jeff Still as Doc Gibbs, Jason Yachanin as Si Crowell, with Dana Jacks, Lynn Laurence, Kathleen Peirce, Keith Perry and Mark Shock.

For tickets visit Smarttix.