Debbie Allen Dance Academy's The Hot Chocolate Nutcracker Wins 2013 National Nutcracker Award

Debbie Allen Dance Academy's The Hot Chocolate Nutcracker at Royce Hall at UCLA in Los Angeles has been named winner of the 7th Annual Goldstar National Nutcracker Award.

The Hot Chocolate Nutcracker, which competed with approximately 60 other productions of The Nutcracker across the country, receives "The Nutty" statuette as well as a cash prize to benefit the organization's education programs.

The creative team for The Hot Chocolate Nutcracker, starring Debbie Allen and Carlo Imperato, included Mariah Carey, Arturo Sandoval, Chau-giang Thi Nguyen, James Ingram and Thump. The Hot Chocolate Nutcracker was performed Dec. 14-15 at Royce Hall at UCLA in Los Angeles.

The Debbie Allen Dance Academy also took home "The Nutty" in 2010.

The Goldstar National Nutcracker Award is the annual initiative "to shine a spotlight on the wide variety of nationwide productions of the holiday classic The Nutcracker."

Previous winners of "The Nutty" Statuette include: The Joffrey Ballet's The Nutcracker in 2011 and 2012; Debbie Allen Dance Academy, The Hot Chocolate Nutcracker in 2010; Boston Ballet's The Nutcracker in 2009; The Kirov Ballet's The Nutcracker in 2008; and The House Theater of Chicago's The Nutcracker at the Steppenwolf Theatre in 2007.