Doubt, Apparel, Hurlyburly Lead Lortel Nominations

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
04 Apr 2005

From Top: Cherry Jones in <i>Doubt</I>,Viola Davis in  <I>Intimate Apparel</I> and Ethan Hawke in <I>Hurlyburly</I>
From Top: Cherry Jones in Doubt,Viola Davis in Intimate Apparel and Ethan Hawke in Hurlyburly

Doubt, Intimate Apparel, Hurlyburly, Altar Boyz and The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee are among the shows to receive multiple 2005 Lucille Lortel Award nominations. The noms were announced April 4.

The awards, celebrating excellence in Off-Broadway theatre, will be handed out May 2 at Dodger Stages. For more information, visit

Two special awards will also be presented at the ceremony. The Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence with go to Frances Sternhagen, and the award for Outstanding Body of Work will go to The Irish Repertory Theatre.

The 2005 Lucille Lortel nominees are:

Outstanding Play:
After Ashley
Going to St. Ives
Intimate Apparel
Orson's Shadow

Outstanding Musical
Altar Boyz
Junie B. Jones
Lone Star Love
The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Outstanding Solo Show
Nine Parts of Desire
The Two and Only

Outstanding Revival
Finian's Rainbow
Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Director
Jo Bonney, Fat Pig
Scott Elliott, Hurlyburly
Doug Hughes, Doubt
James Lapine, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Daniel Sullivan, Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Choreographer
Christopher Gattelli, Altar Boyz
Devanand Janki, Junie B. Jones
Dan Knechtges, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Barry McNabb, Finian's Rainbow
Randy Skinner, Lone Star Love

Outstanding Lead Actor
Larry Bryggman, Romance
Ethan Hawke, Hurlyburly
Brían F. O‚Byrne, Doubt
John Rubinstein, Counsellor-At-Law
Jeffrey Wright, This Is How It Goes

Outstanding Lead Actress
Ashlie Atkinson, Fat Pig
Viola Davis, Intimate Apparel
Cherry Jones, Doubt
Judy Kaye, Souvenir
Elizabeth Marvel, Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Featured Actor
Kevin Cahoon, The Foreigner
Dan Fogler, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Josh Hamilton, Hurlyburly
Logan Marshall-Green, The Distance From Here
Tyler Maynard, Altar Boyz

Outstanding Featured Actress
Jenn Harris, Modern Orthodox
Adriane Lenox, Doubt
Alison Pill, On the Mountain
Parker Posey, Hurlyburly
Jennifer Simard, Forbidden Broadway: SVU

Outstanding Scenic Design
Julian Crouch & Graeme Gilmour, Shockheaded Peter
Antje Ellermann, Nine Parts of Desire
Derek McLane, Intimate Apparel
Neil Patel, Between Us
Jan Versweyved, Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Costume Design
Alvin Colt, Forbidden Broadway: SVU
Anna Hannikainen, Slava's Snowshow
Kevin Pollard, Shockheaded Peter
Anita Yavich, Svejk
Catherine Zuber, Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Lighting Design
Christopher Akerlind, Belle Epoque
Jules Fisher & Peggy Eisenhauer, Dessa Rose
Jon Linstrum, Shockheaded Peter
James Vermeulen, Mr. Fox: A Rumination
David Weiner, Rodney's Wife

Outstanding Sound Design
Obadiah Eaves, Nine Parts of Desire
Scott Lehrer, Dessa Rose
Simon Matthews, Altar Boyz
Darron L. West, Hot 'n' Throbbing
Darron L. West, The Last Days of Judas Iscariot

Multiple nominations:
Five nominations
Intimate Apparel

Four nominations:
Altar Boyz
The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Three nominations:
Hedda Gabler
Nine Parts of Desire
Shockheaded Peter

Two nominations:
Dessa Rose
Fat Pig
Finian's Rainbow
Forbidden Broadway: SVU
Junie B. Jones
Lone Star Love
Darron L. West