"Glee," Nicole Kidman, Helen Mirren, Aaron Sorkin and More Receive Satellite Award Nominations

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
03 Dec 2010

The International Press Academy announced nominations for the 15th Annual Satellite Awards, which recognize work in film and television.

The hit Fox musical series "Glee" led the television category with five nominations, including Best Television Series (Comedy or Musical), and acting nominations for Broadway vets Matthew Morrison and Lea Michele in the lead categories, and Chris Colfer and fellow stage actress Jane Lynch in supporting roles.

Other theatre folk who were recognized for their lead performances in film include Nicole Kidman for her work in "Rabbit Hole," Helen Mirren for "The Tempest," Natalie Portman for "Black Swan," Colin Firth for "The King's Speech," Annette Bening and Julianne Moore for "The Kids Are All Right," Anne Hathaway for "Love and Other Drugs," Sally Hawkins for "Made in Dagenham," Catherine Keener for "Please Give," Mary-Louise Parker and John Malkovich for "Red" and John C. Reilly and Marisa Tomei for "Cyrus."

Supporting film actors with stage ties who received nominations include Vanessa Redgrave ("Letters to Juliet"), Kristin Scott Thomas ("Nowhere Boy"), Dianne Weist ("Rabbit Hole") and Geoffrey Rush  ("The King's Speech") Aaron Sorkin was nominated for his screenplay for "The Social Network," which also received a nod for Best Motion Picture (Drama).

Stage alums recognized for their lead roles in television include Claire Danes ("Temple Grandin"), Hope Davis ("The Special Relationship"), Judi Dench ("Return to Cranford"), Al Pacino ("You Don't Know Jack"), David Suchet ("Agatha Christie Poirot: Murder on the Orient Express"), Julianna Margulies ("The Good Wife"), Anna Paquin ("True Blood"), Michael C. Hall ("Dexter"), Toni Collette ("United States of Tara"), Laura Linney ("The Big C"), Mary-Louise Parker ("Weeds") and Alec Baldwin ("30 Rock").

Supporting actors with stage backgrounds include Elizabeth Moss ("Mad Men"), Brenda Vaccaro ("You Don't Know Jack"), Alan Cumming ("The Good Wife"), Neil Patrick Harris ("How I Met Your Mother"), Martin Short ("Damages") and David Strathairn ("Temple Grandin").