Helen Hayes Awards Nominees Include Laramie Project, Anything Goes and A Funny Thing Happened On the Way to the Forum

The nominees for the 30th Annual Helen Hayes Awards, honoring 155 artists, ensembles and productions in 27 categories from 62 productions from 27 theatres, have been announced.

Fifty-eight judges, endorsed by a panel of Washington-area artistic directors, submitted 23,023 scores in consideration of 2,697 pieces of work, including performances, designs, productions and direction.

"We are so proud to be celebrating our 30th Anniversary this year, but our Board, staff, and the entire organization is squarely focused on the next 30 years," Kurt Crowl, chairman of the theatreWashington Board of Directors, said in a statement.

Nominees include Shakespeare Theatre Company's production of A Funny Thing Happened On the Way to the Forum for Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Musical; Ford's Theatre's presentation of The Laramie Project for Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Play; and Anything Goes at the Kennedy Center for Outstanding Visiting Production.

Rachel York was nominated for Outstanding Lead Actress, Visiting Production, for Anything Goes, and Bruce Dow was nominated for Outstanding Lead Actor, Resident Musical, for A Funny Thing Happened On the Way to the Forum. Erin Weaver, from the Signature Theatre's The Last Five Years, was nominated for Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Musical, as well as for Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Play, for Romeo and Juliet at the Folger Theatre and Outstanding Supporting Actress, Resident Musical, for the Signature Theatre's revival of  Company.

The 2014 Helen Hayes Tribute Award (sponsored by the late Jaylee Mead) will be presented to Victor Shargai, longtime theatreWashington Board Chair. In September 2013, Shargai passed his gavel as Board Chair to Crowl, who now leads the theatreWashington Board of Directors. Previous honorees include Kevin Spacey, Derek Jacobi and Edward Albee. The 30th Annual Helen Hayes Awards will be held April 21 at the National Building Museum.

Visit theatreWashington.org for a complete list of nominees and more information.