Helen Hunt, Bruce Willis, Bradley Cooper, Zoe Kazan, Martin McDonagh Among 2013 Spirit Award Nominees

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
28 Nov 2012

Zoe Kazan
Zoe Kazan

Nominations for The Film Independent Spirit Awards, which celebrate artist-driven filmmaking and recognize the finest achievements of today's independent filmmakers, were announced Nov. 27.

The annual awards will air Feb. 23 at 10 PM on IFC. Ann Dowd, Bradley Cooper, Bruce Willis, Helen Hunt, Jack Black Jennifer Lawrence, Martin McDonagh, Wendell Pierce, Sam Rockwell and Zoe Kazan were among the 2013 nominees.

A list of nominees follows:

Best Feature:
"Beasts of the Southern Wild"
"Keep the Lights On"
"Moonrise Kingdom"
"Silver Linings Playbook"

Best Director:
Wes Anderson (“Moonrise Kingdom”)
Julia Loktev (“The Loneliest Planet”)
David O. Russell (“Silver Linings Playbook”)
Ira Sachs (“Keep the Lights On”)
Benh Zeitlin (“Beasts of the Southern Wild”)

Best Screenplay:
Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola (“Moonrise Kingdom”)
Zoe Kazan (“Ruby Sparks”)
Martin McDonagh (“7 Psychopaths”)
David O. Russell (“Silver Linings Playbook”)
Ira Sachs (“Keep the Lights On”)

Best Female Lead:
Linda Cardellini (“Return”)
Emayatzy Corinealdi (“Middle of Nowhere”)
Jennifer Lawrence (“Silver Linings Playbook”)
Quvenzhane Wallis (“Beasts of the Southern Wild”)
Mary Elizabeth Winstead (“Smashed”)

Best Male Lead:
Jack Black (“Bernie”)
Bradley Cooper (“Silver Linings Playbook”)
John Hawkes (“The Sessions”)
Thure Lindhardt (“Keep the Lights On”)
Matthew McConaughey (“Killer Joe”)
Wendell Pierce (“Four”)

Best Supporting Female:
Rosemarie DeWitt (“Your Sister’s Sister”)
Ann Dowd (“Compliance”)
Helen Hunt (“The Sessions”)
Brit Marling (“Sound of My Voice”)
Lorraine Toussaint (“Middle of Nowhere”)

Best Supporting Male:
Matthew McConaughey (“Magic Mike”)
David Oyelowo (“Middle of Nowhere”)
Michael Pena (“End of Watch”)
Sam Rockwell (“7 Psychopaths”)
Bruce Willis (“Moonrise Kingdom”)

Best Documentary:
“How to Survive a Plague”
“Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present”
“The Central Park Five”
“The Invisible War”
“The Waiting Room”

For more information and a complete list of nominees, visit SpiritAwards.com.