How The Grinch Stole Christmas! Cast Album, With Patrick Page and John Cullum, Released Oct. 29

The cast album of Dr. Seuss' How The Grinch Stole Christmas! The Musical — featuring original cast member Patrick Page as the grumpy hermit whose heart is "two sizes too small" — is released Oct. 29 by Sony Masterworks Broadway.

Patrick Page in the Broadway production of The Grinch.
Patrick Page in the Broadway production of The Grinch. (Photo by Paul Kolnik)

The stage production, based on the original book written by Dr. Seuss, was conceived by three-time Tony Award winner Jack O'Brien. Book and lyrics are by Timothy Mason with music by Mel Marvin and additional music and lyrics by Albert Hague and Dr. Seuss.

The Grinch has orchestrations by Tony Award winner Michael Starobin, dance arrangements by David Krane and musical direction and vocal arrangements by Joshua Rosenblum.

Bonus tracks on the album feature cut numbers from the production. The album features members of the Broadway cast, including Page ( Spider-Man Turn Off the Dark), John Cullum ( The Scottsboro Boys, Shenandoah) and Rusty Ross.

It is produced by seven-time Grammy Award nominee Robert Sher, who also produced the cast album of Nice Work If You Can Get It and the 50th anniversary recording of How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying starring Daniel Radcliffe.

The Grinch was previously seen on Broadway in 2006 and 2007 and made its Los Angeles debut in 2009. It enjoyed a New York run in 2012 at the Theatre at Madison Square Garden following a mini holiday tour. How the Grinch Stole Christmas – The Musical was first presented at San Diego's Old Globe Theatre — under the direction of O'Brien with choreography by John DeLuca — where it continues to run each season. 

Dr. Seuss' How The Grinch Stole Christmas! The Musical features the beloved songs "You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch" and "Welcome Christmas" from the original animated TV special. Max the Dog narrates, while the mean and scheming Grinch, whose heart is "two sizes too small," decides to steal Christmas away from holiday-loving Whos of Whoville.

The track listing follows:

"Fah Who Foraze"
"Who Likes Christmas?"
"This Time Of Year"
"I Hate Christmas Eve"
"Welcome, Christmas"
"I Hate Christmas Eve"
"It's The Thought That Counts"
"This Time of Year" (Reprise)
"One Of a Kind"
"Down the Mountain"
"Now's the Time"
"You're A Mean One, Mr. Grinch"
"Santa For a Day"
"Stealing Christmas"
"Who Likes Christmas?" (Reprise)
"One of a Kind" (Reprise)
"This Time Of Year" (Reprise)
"Welcome, Christmas" (Reprise)
"Exit Music"
"Once in a Year" (Bonus Track)
"Where are You, Christmas?" (Bonus Track)