IRNE Awards Honor Pippin, The Glass Menagerie and All The Way

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
08 Apr 2014

Bryan Cranston
Bryan Cranston
Photo by Evgenia Eliseeva

The winners of the 18th Annual Independent Reviewers of New England Awards have been announced.

The awards were presented April 7 at 7 PM at The Cyclorama at the Boston Center for the Arts.

In the Large Theater category, Best New Play went to the American Repertory Theatre production of All The Way by Robert Schenkkan, and Best Musical went to Pippin, also at American Repertory Theater. ART's production of The Glass Menagerie was also recognized with Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress in a Play, which went to Cherry Jones and Celia Keenan-Bolger, respectively. Pippin was honored with Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress in a Musical, going to Patina Miller and Andrea Martin, respectively. Best Actor in a Play went to Bryan Cranston in All The Way, and Usman Ally won Best Actor in a Musical for his performance in The Jungle Book at Huntington Theatre Company. 

In the Small/Fringe category, Best Musical went to Gloucester Stage Company's Spring Awakening, and Best Play went to Zeitgeist Stage Company's The Normal Heart. Best Play (Midsize) went to Tribes at SpeakEasy Stage Company. 

Special recognition awards were presented to Trinity Repertory Company, celebrating 50 years; The Lyric Stage Company of Boston, celebrating 40 years; and David Coffee, who has marked 20 years of playing Scrooge in the North Shore Music Theatre’s annual production of A Christmas Carol. Actor Davron Monroe was presented with the first annual Bob Jolly Award, established by the late actor in recognition of an up-and-coming talent.

Click here for a complete list of winners.