Joe A. Callaway Awards for Direction and Choreography Honor Ruben Santiago-Hudson and Marlo Hunter

The Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation (SDCF) has announced the Joe A. Callaway Award winners for Direction and Choreography.

Ruben Santiago-Hudson
Ruben Santiago-Hudson

Selected from more than 200 eligible productions in the 2012–13 New York City theatre season, the awards will be presented Oct. 28. This year's awards will go to Ruben Santiago-Hudson for his direction of The Piano Lesson, produced by Signature Theatre; and Marlo Hunter for her choreography of Unlock'd, produced by Prospect Theater Company.

These two artists join previous Joe A. Callaway Award winners, including Susan Stroman (1991), Harold Prince (1993), Julie Taymor (1996), Jack O'Brien (2001), Bartlett Sher (2002), Daniel Sullivan (2004), John Tiffany (2012) and Steven Hoggett (2012).

The Callaway Award Selection Committee, comprising current, longstanding SDC members, also selected finalists from more than 200 productions considered this season.

Finalists for the 2012–13 Joe A. Callaway Award follow:

Davis McCallum, The Whale, produced by Playwrights Horizons
Ciarán O'Reilly, The Weir, produced by The Irish Repertory Theatre
Lisa Rothe, Hold These Truths, produced by Epic Theatre Ensemble
* Ruben Santiago-Hudson, The Piano Lesson, produced by Signature Theatre
Kimberly Senior, Disgraced, produced by LCT3/ Lincoln Center Theater Choreographers
Tracy Bersley, The Civil War, produced by Theatreworks USA
Greg Graham, Finks, produced by The Ensemble Studio Theatre
*Marlo Hunter, Unlock'd, produced by Prospect Theater Company

*Signifies award winners

Callaway committee members include Leslie (Hoban) Blake, Linda Burson, Jonathan Stuart Cerullo, Hope Clarke, Edie Cowan, John Going, Bruce Heath, Gus Kaikkonen, Sue Lawless, William G. Martin Jr., Barry McNabb, Michael Montel and Tony Parise.

Founded in 1965 by members of the Stage Directors and Choreographers, the SDCF exists to foster, train, support and promote the craft of theatre directors and choreographers. 

For more information, visit