John Lloyd Young and Jan Maxwell Will Announce Nominees for Drama Desk Awards; Awards Will Be Held at Town Hall

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
19 Feb 2013

John Lloyd Young
John Lloyd Young
Photo by Larry Gomez

The 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards will be presented May 19 at 8 PM at The Town Hall.

Nominations for the annual awards will be announced April 26 at 11 AM ET at 54 Below by John Lloyd Young (Drama Desk winner, Jersey Boys) and Jan Maxwell (Drama Desk winner, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, The Royal Family).

The awards show will be written by Bill Rosenfield and directed by Jack Cummings III (co-founder and artistic director of Transport Group). Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show.

Gretchen Shugart is managing executive producer of Drama Desk Awards. The president of Drama Desk is Isa Goldberg.

Drama Desk Awards, which are presented annually, honor outstanding achievement by professional theatre artists on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway. Drama Desk Awards are voted on and bestowed by theatre critics, journalists, editors and publishers covering theatre "without any vested interest in the results.”

The 2012-2013 Drama Desk Nominating Committee comprises Barbara Siegel, Chairperson ( and freelance); David Kaufman (author and freelance), Samuel L. Leiter (Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Theatre, Brooklyn College and the Graduate Center), Martha Wade Steketee (; editor and contributor, Chance Magazine), Adrian Wattenmaker (Theater Faculty, Brooklyn College; Director, School of Creative and Performing Arts), and James Wilson (Professor of Theatre, CUNY; co-editor of Journal of American Drama and Theatre).

For more information visit