Jon Kern's Modern Terrorism Opens Off-Broadway at Second Stage Oct. 18

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
18 Oct 2012

William Jackson Harper and Utkarsh Ambudkar
William Jackson Harper and Utkarsh Ambudkar
Photo by Joan Marcus

The world premiere of Jon Kern's Modern Terrorism, or They Who Want To Kill Us and How We Learn To Love Them, a dark comedy that skewers the difficulties of being a terrorist in the 21st century, officially opens Off-Broadway Oct. 18 at Second Stage Theatre.

Peter DuBois (Becky Shaw, Trust, All New People) directs the play, which is the second-annual recipient of the Laurents/Hatcher Award.

Modern Terrorism began previews Sept. 21. The production was originally scheduled to open Oct. 15, but was delayed to Oct. 18 after performances were canceled in early October due to actor illness.  The run will continue through Nov. 4 as scheduled.

The cast features Utkarsh Ambudkar (Animals Out of Paper, The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Diety), Steven Boyer (Hand to God), William Jackson Harper (Ruined) and Nitya Vidyasagar (The Glorious Ones, "Sesame Street").

According to 2ST, "In the spirit of Dr. Strangelove comes Modern Terrorism, or They Who Want To Kill Us and How We Learn To Love Them, a provocative satire about a rogue group of 21st Century terrorists and their darkly comic misadventures. As a young bomber develops feelings for his beautiful, secretive conspirator, he is torn between his duty and his heart. When his hipster neighbor accidentally gets caught up in the plans, circumstances spiral out of control."

The production has scenic design by Alexander Dodge, costume design by Mimi O’Donnell, lighting design by Russell Champa and sound design by M.L. Dogg.

Modern Terrorism, or They Who Want To Kill Us and How We Learn To Love Them was selected as the second recipient of the Laurents/Hatcher Award – named in honor of late Tony Award-winning playwright Arthur Laurents (Gypsy, West Side Story, Home of the Brave, "The Way We Were") and his late partner Tom Hatcher. The annual award provides the winning playwright with a $50,000 cash prize and $100,000 in funding towards the production cost of the play's premiere, which must take place within a year of the award's announcement.

Kern is a member of the Ars Nova Playgroup, the Ma-Yi Writers Lab and the Civilians R&D Group. He is a graduate of Columbia University's MFA program in playwriting and the University of Chicago.

For tickets visit