Kennedy Center ASCAP Centennial Celebration, with Klea Blackhurst, Corey Cott, Ron Raines, Begins Nov. 16

The Kennedy Center, under the auspices of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP), presents a free, five-night ASCAP Centennial Celebration on the Millennium Stage Nov. 16-18 and Nov. 20-21.

Klea Blackhurst
Klea Blackhurst

Curated by Michael Kerker, the performances highlight "the breadth and depth of the past century of musical theatre with each night of the celebration focusing on a certain era from the last 100 years," according to press notes.

The event kicks off Nov. 16 with a concert focusing on works relating to Broadway Today and Tomorrow. The Nov. 17 performance will feature works from the years 1914-1938, to be followed Nov. 18 with songs from “The Golden Era” of Broadway (1939-1963). Selections from the 1964-1988 era will be highlighted Nov. 20; with the final night of the celebration, Nov. 21, focusing on selections from 1989-2013.

Performers include Klea Blackhurst, Shelly Burch, Corey Cott, Jason Graae, Kara Lindsay, Jessica Phillips, Tony nominee Ron Raines, pianists Ben Rauhala, Matt Baker and John Boswell and jazz violinist and arranger Aaron Weinstein.

Attendees can expect to hear works by composer and lyricist John Bucchino, Martin Charnin, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Donald Pippin, Sam Willmott and Amanda Yesnowitz and Deborah Abramson.

The performances are streamed live on the Kennedy Center website and archived for future viewings. It is the first in a series of events across the country celebrating ASCAP’s upcoming 100th birthday on Feb. 13, 2014. A schedule for the ASCAP Centennial Celebration follows:

Nov. 16 at 6 PM: Broadway Today and Tomorrow, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Jessica Phillips, Sam Willmott, and Amanda Yesnowitz and Deborah Abramson

Nov. 17 at 6 PM: Selections from 1914-1938, Klea Blackhurst and Aaron Weinstein; pianist Matt Baker

Nov. 18 at 6 PM: Selections from 1939-1963 (“The Golden Era”), Ron Raines and Donald Pippin

Nov. 20 at 6 PM: Selections from 1964-1988, Shelly Burch, Jason Graae and Martin Charnin; pianist John Boswell

Nov. 21 at 6 PM: Selections from 1989-2013 Corey Cott, Kara Lindsay, John Bucchino and Ben Rauhala

For more information about the Millennium Stage, visit