Laura Osnes and Santino Fontana Will Host National High School Musical Theater Awards

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
03 Jun 2013

Laura Osnes and Santino Fontana
Laura Osnes and Santino Fontana
Photo by Carol Rosegg

Two of the Tony-nominated stars of Rodgers + Hammerstein's CinderellaLaura Osnes and Santino Fontana — will host the 5th Annual National High School Musical Theater Awards (NHSMTA) July 1 at the Minskoff Theatre.

Student winners from 31 regional competitions will take part in the Jimmy™ Awards, named after Broadway theatre owner and producer James M. (“Jimmy”) Nederlander.

Each year, more than 50,000 high school students participate in musical theatre competitions sponsored by professional theatre organizations in cities across America.

The National High School Musical Theater Awards was founded in 2009 by the Pittsburgh CLO and Nederlander Alliances to create “a connection between the talented students in the amateur arena of high school musicals and the professional theater world,” according to Pittsburgh CLO executive producer and NHSMTA president Van Kaplan. Since its inception, the education-focused NHSMTA has been the catalyst for more than $750,000 in college and conservatory scholarships awarded to young performers.

Over the past five years, the program has been supported by industry leaders and donors, including NYU Tisch School of the Arts, the National Endowment for the Arts, The Shubert Organization, The Broadway League, Tams-Witmark Music Library, Inc., Disney Theatrical Productions, Barry & Fran Weissler/BWF Foundation and Jujamcyn Theaters.

Tickets to The National High School Musical Theater Awards are available by visiting


NHSMTA is funded by the Broadway Education Alliance (BEA), the "non-profit theater, performing arts and live entertainment industries service organization dedicated to building coalitions that support theatre arts education and cultural studies for audiences of all ages." To help support the NHSMTA, visit The Broadway Education Alliance.