Martin Scorsese Will Present Mel Brooks with AFI Lifetime Achievement Award

Mel Brooks, whose Broadway credits include The Producers and Young Frankenstein, will be honored by the American Film Institute in June.

Variety reports that Brooks will receive the Institute's Lifetime Achievement Award June 6 at Los Angeles' Dolby Theatre. Academy Award winner Martin Scorsese will present the honor to fellow filmmaker Brooks.

The evening will be televised June 15 on TNT. TCM will also broadcast the ceremony July 24 as part of a tribute to Brooks.

Previous recipients of the AFI Lifetime Achievement Award include John Ford, James Cagney, Orson Welles, William Wyler, Bette Davis, Henry Fonda, Alfred Hitchcock, Meryl Streep, Al Pacino, Warren Beatty, Michael Douglas, Mike Nichols, Morgan Freeman and more. Oscar winner Shirley MacLaine received the award in 2012.