NEO 8 Concert, With Whitney Bashor, Ben Crawford, Matt Doyle, Theresa McCarthy, Betsy Wolfe, Presented May 21

York Theatre Company presents NEO 8, a benefit concert celebrating new, emerging and outstanding musical theatre writers, May 21 at The York Theatre at the Theatre at Saint Peter's.

Whitney Bashor
Whitney Bashor

The eighth annual concert — directed by Daniel Goldstein ( Godspell), with music direction by Matt Castle (York's Enter Laughing, The Musical), David Gardos and Michael Borth — features songs by Andrew Gerle, Jenny Giering, Joe Kinosian and Kellen Blair, Marisa Michelson and Ryan Scott Oliver.

Performers comprise Whitney Bashor ( The Fantasticks), Ben Crawford ( Shrek, The Musical), Matt Doyle ( Spring Awakening), Jake Kitchin, Theresa McCarthy ( Queen of the Mist), Catherine Porter, Jill Abramowitz ( 9 to 5), Soara-Joye Ross ( Les Miserables), Margo Seibert ( Cinderella) and Betsy Wolfe ( Ragtime).

Program mentors making special appearances include Adam Guettel ( Light in the Piazza), Tom Jones ( The Fantasticks), Sheldon Harnick ( Fiddler on the Roof) and Maury Yeston ( Grand Hotel).

The evening begins at 6:30 PM followed by a champagne and dessert reception.

NEO (an acronym for "New, Emerging, Outstanding") "celebrates songwriters primed to pen the next generation of musicals," according to the York.

Tickets (in various increments) can be purchased by calling (212) 935-5824, ext. 215 or via the York's website,