Nominations for 2013 Olivier Awards Announced; National's Curious Incident and Top Hat Top the List

The nominations for this year's Olivier Awards are led by the National's production of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, recently transferred to the West End's Apollo Theatre, with eight nominations including Best New Play, Best Director for Marianne Elliott and Best Actor for Luke Treadaway.

Luke Treadaway in The Curious Incident...
Luke Treadaway in The Curious Incident... (Photo by Manuel Harlan)

Top Hat (continuing at the Aldwych Theatre) followed with seven nominations, with the Chichester Festival Theatre production of Sweeney Todd receiving six for its transfer to the Adelphi Theatre (now shuttered).

Another Chichester production,  Kiss Me, Kate (which transferred to the Old Vic, also now shuttered), received five nominations, as did Stephen Daldry's production of The Audience (now at the Gielgud). Four nominations were earned by The Bodyguard (now running at the Adelphi), and the already shuttered productions of Constellations and Twelfth Night (which transferred from the Royal Court and Shakespeare's Globe to the Duke of York's and Apollo respectively).

The awards, supported by MasterCard, will be presented at the Royal Opera House April 28, hosted by Hugh Bonneville and Sheridan Smith. They will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 2 from 6.30 PM that evening, with a television highlights package broadcast on ITV later that evening.

For further details, visit

The full nominations are as follows:

 Best Actor
Rupert Everett for The Judas Kiss (Apollo Theatre)
James McAvoy for Macbeth
Mark Rylance for Twelfth Night
Rafe Spall for Constellations
Luke Treadaway for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best Actress
Helen Mirren for The Audience
Hattie Morahan for A Doll's House
Billie Piper for The Effect
Kristin Scott Thomas for Old Times

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Paul Chahidi for Twelfth Night (Apollo Theatre)
Richard McCabe for The Audience
Adrian Scarborough for Hedda Gabler
Kyle Soller for Long Day’s Journey Into Night

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Janie Dee for NSFW
Anastasia Hille for The Effect
Cush Jumbo for Julius Caesar (Donmar Warehouse)
Helen McCrory for The Last of the Haussmans
Nicola Walker for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Mastercard Best New Play
The Audience
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
This House

Best Director
Stephen Daldry for The Audience
Marianne Elliott for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Jeremy Herrin for This House
Simon McBurney for The Master And Margarita


Tom Chambers and Summer Strallen in Top Hat.
photo by Brinkhoff and Mogenburg

Best Actor in a Musical
Michael Ball for Sweeney Todd
Alex Bourne for Kiss Me, Kate
Tom Chambers for Top Hat
Will Young for Cabaret

Best Actress in a Musical
Heather Headley for The Bodyguard
Imelda Staunton for Sweeney Todd
Summer Strallen for Top Hat
Hannah Waddingham for Kiss Me, Kate

Best Performance in a Supporting Role in a Musical
Adam Garcia for Kiss Me, Kate
Debbie Kurup for The Bodyguard
Siân Phillips for Cabaret
Leigh Zimmerman for A Chorus Line

Best New Musical
Soul Sister
The Bodyguard
Top Hat

Best Revival
Long Day's Journey Into Night
Old Times
Twelfth Night (Apollo Theatre)

Best Musical Revival
A Chorus Line
Kiss Me, Kate
Sweeney Todd

Best Entertainment and Family
Cinderella (St James Theatre)
Goodnight Mister Tom
Hansel And Gretel
Room On The Broom

White Light Award for Best Lighting Design
Paul Anderson for The Master And Margarita
Paule Constable for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Lee Curran for Constellations
Mark Henderson for Sweeney Todd

Best Sound Design
Ian Dickinson for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Paul Groothuis for Sweeney Todd
David McSeveney for Constellations
Gareth Owen for Top Hat

Best Costume Design
Bob Crowley for The Audience
Jon Morrell for Top Hat
Jenny Tiramani for Twelfth Night
Anthony Ward for Sweeney Todd

XL Video Award for Best Set Design
Hildegard Bechtler for Top Hat
Miriam Buether & Wang Gongxin for Wild Swans
Bunny Christie & Finn Ross for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Tim Hatley for The Bodyguard

Best New Dance Production
Aeternum by the Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House, choreographed by Christoper Wheeldon
Cacti by Nederlands Dans Theatre 2 at Sadler's Wells, choreographed by Alexander Ekman
A Streetcar Named Desire by Scottish Ballet at Sadler's Wells

Outstanding Achievement in Dance
Lez Brotherston for the set and costumes for Matthew Bourne's Sleeping Beauty, New Adventures at Sadler’s Wells
ILLfor Abilities company in Breakin' Convention at Sadler's Wells
Marianela Nunez for Aeternum, Diana & Actaeon and Viscera, The Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House

Best Theatre Choreographer
Scott Ambler for Chariots Of Fire
Bill Deamer for Top Hat
Scott Graham & Steven Hoggett for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Stephen Mear for Kiss Me, Kate

Outstanding Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre
Caroline Horton for You're Not Like The Other Girls Chrissy at the Bush Theatre
The production of Red Velvet at the Tricycle Theatre
The season of new writing at the Royal Court Upstairs
Kate Bond and Morgan Lloyd for You Me Bum Bum Train, presented by Theatre Royal Stratford East

Best New Opera Production
Billy Budd, English National Opera at the London Coliseum
Caligula, English National Opera at the London Coliseum
Einstein On The Beach at the Barbican Theatre
La Traviata, English National Opera at the London Coliseum

Outstanding Achievement in Opera
Edward Gardner for his conducting of The Flying Dutchman and Billy Budd at the English National Opera, London Coliseum
Bryan Hymel for his performances in Les Troyens, Robert Le Diable and Rusalka at the Royal Opera House
Music Theatre Wales for In the Locked Room/Ghost Patrolat the Linbury Theatre, the Royal Opera House
The Stage Management teams at English National Opera, London Coliseum and the Royal Opera House

BBC Radio 2 Audience Award
Billy Elliot The Musical
Matilda The Musical
The Phantom Of The Opera

Special Award
As previously announced, two special awards will be given to director/choreographer Gillian Lynne and playwright Michael Frayn.