NYC Mayor's Office Names Chita Rivera, Nick Wyman, Tommy Tune, Charles Strouse and More as "Spotlight" Winners

The New York City Mayor's Office of Media and Entertainment is expected to announce recipients of Spotlight Awards in tribute to theatre people who contribute to the richness of the Broadway theatre community, the New York Times has reported.

Chita Rivera
Chita Rivera (Photo by Laura Marie Duncan)

The recipients will be officially announced Sunday, Sept. 9, in conjunction with Broadway On Broadway, the annual outdoor concert in Times Square that celebrates current and coming shows. The show lures 50,000 people annually.

The recipients of the first annual Spotlight Awards are actress-dancer Chita Rivera; composer Charles Strouse; actress Arlene Dahl; actor-director-choreographer Tommy Tune; Nick Wyman, president of Actors' Equity Association; Matthew D. Loeb, the president of the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees; James M. Nederlander, chairman of the Nederlander Organization; and veteran general manager Nina Lannan.

According to the Times, the mayor's office and The Broadway League will roll out videos about the history of Broadway theatres at the new website

Read about the 2012 Broadway On Broadway lineup on