Off Broadway Alliance Awards Nominees Announced; Christopher Durang, Sigourney Weaver Also Honored

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
08 May 2013

Steve Rosen and David Rossmer in <i>The Other Josh Cohen</i>.
Steve Rosen and David Rossmer in The Other Josh Cohen.
Photo by Carol Rosegg

The Off Broadway Alliance — the organization of Off-Broadway producers, theatres, general managers, press agents and marketing professionals — has announced the nominees for the 3rd Annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards, honoring commercial and not-for-profit productions that opened Off-Broadway during the 2012-13 season.

Awards are presented in five competitive categories: Best New Musical, Best New Play, Best Musical Revival, Best Play Revival and Best Unique Theatrical Experience. Winners, who will be announced May 21, are selected by secret ballot by members of the awards committee of the Off Broadway Alliance.

In addition to the competitive awards, Off Broadway Alliance Legend of Off Broadway Awards will be presented for sustained achievement in the world of Off-Broadway to Christopher Durang, A.R. Gurney, Kristine Nielsen, Daryl Roth, Stomp and Sigourney Weaver.

Nominees follow:

Best New Musical
F#%king Up Everything
Here Lies Love
Murder Ballad
Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812
The Other Josh Cohen

Best New Play
My Name is Asher Lev
Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike

Best Musical Revival
Closer Than Ever
The Good Person of Szechwan
The Last Five Years
New Girl In Town

Best Play Revival
All in the Timing
Golden Child
The Piano Lesson
Talley’s Folly
Uncle Vanya

Best Unique Theatrical Experience
Buyer & Cellar
Ingenious Nature
Jukebox Jackie
Old Jews Telling Jokes
Old Man and the Old Moon


The Off Broadway Alliance is a non-profit corporation organized by theatre professionals "dedicated to supporting, promoting and encouraging the production of Off Broadway theater and to making live theater increasingly accessible to new and diverse audiences."

The Alliance holds monthly meetings, and membership is open to everyone in the Off-Broadway theatre community. For more information visit