PHOTO CALL: Cristin Milioti, Steve Kazee, Denis O'Hare, Marisa Tomei, Kyle Riabko and More at NYTW's Spring Gala

New York Theatre Workshop (NYTW) held its 2013 Spring Gala, honoring Artistic Director James C. Nicola in celebration of 25 years of service to the organization May 20 at Tribeca Rooftop.

The evening was directed by Doug Wright and featured performances by Steve Kazee, Tony Kushner, Cristin Milioti, Denis O’Hare, Lisa Peterson, Kyles Riabko, Ivo van Hove, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Fredi Walker-Browne and Mary Louise Wilson.

James C. Nicola has been Artistic Director of New York Theatre Workshop since 1988. Under his guidance, NYTW has remained steadfast to its founding commitment of nurturing both established and emerging theatre artists, promoting collaboration and bold experimentation with theatrical forms. Mr. Nicola initiated an extensive series of workshop opportunities including summer residencies and minority theatre artist fellowships, and has forged a unique community of theatre artists, the Usual Suspects, a group of writers, directors, designers and actors, who form the core of NYTW’s artist development activities.

New York Theatre Workshop, now celebrating its 30th Season, is a leading voice in the world of Off-Broadway and within the theatre community in New York and around the world. NYTW has emerged as a premiere incubator of important new theatre, honoring its mission to explore perspectives on our collective history and respond to the events and institutions that shape our lives. In addition, NYTW is known for its innovative adaptations of classic repertory. Each season, from its home in New York's East Village neighborhood, NYTW presents three to five new productions, over 80 readings, and numerous workshop productions, for over 45,000 audience members. Over the past 28 years, NYTW has developed and produced over 100 new, fully staged works.