PHOTO CALL: Debra Messing, Eric McCormack, Anthony Rapp, Bobby Cannavale and More Honor Susan Sarandon at Trevor Live

The Trevor Project Board of Directors and event co-chairs Bill Veloric and Keola Whittaker presented Trevor Live, the Trevor Project's annual benefit, June 25 at New York City's Chelsea Piers (Pier 60). Drama Desk nominee Susan Sarandon received the 2012 Trevor Hero Award.

Tony Award winner Michael Mayer is the special guest director of Trevor Live, which featured appearances by "Smash" star Debra Messing, The Best Man's Eric McCormack, Anthony Rapp and news anchor Thomas Roberts.  Nate Ruess, Jack Antonoff and their band, fun., headlined the event.

The evening honored Renae Cartwright and Jeremiah Beaverly with the Colin Higgins Youth Courage Award and MTV with the Trevor 2020 Award. Sarandon, who has been seen on Broadway in Exit the King and An Evening with Richard Nixon and..., is this year's recipient of the annual Trevor Hero Award.

The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning (LGBTQ) youth. For more information, visit

Director Mayer won the Tony Award in 2007 for Spring Awakening and was nominated for his work on Thoroughly Modern Millie; You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown; and A View From the Bridge. His other Broadway credits include Triumph of Love, Side Man, Uncle Vanya and the 2011 revival of On a Clear Day You Can See Forever, among others. For more on his theatrical history, visit the Playbill Vault.