PHOTO CALL: Meet the Cast of Broadway's The Country House, Starring Blythe Danner, Kate Jennings Grant and Daniel Sunjata

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
20 Aug 2014

Pulitzer Prize winner Donald Margulies' The Country House will begin previews on Broadway Sept. 9 at the Samuel J. Friedman Theatre.

Produced in association with the Geffen Playhouse, opening night on Broadway is scheduled for Oct. 2.

View the Entire Photo Gallery
Kate Jennings Grant, David Rasche, Eric Lange, Blythe Danner, Sarah Steele and Daniel Sunjata
Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Tony winner Daniel Sullivan directs.

Joining previously announced Tony and Emmy Award winner Blythe Danner will be Kate Jennings Grant (The Lyons, Proof), Eric Lange (“The Bridge,” “Weeds”), David Rasche (Regrets Only, Speed-the-Plow), Sarah Steele (Slowgirl, Speech and Debate) and Tony nominee Daniel Sunjata ("Graceland,” Take Me Out).

Danner stars as Anna Patterson, "the matriarch of a brood of famous and longing-to-be-famous creative artists who have gathered at their Berkshires summerhouse during the Williamstown Theatre Festival," according to MTC. "But when the weekend takes an unexpected turn, everyone is forced to improvise… inciting a series of simmering jealousies, a flurry of romantic outbursts and a bout of passionate soul-searching."

Inspired by Chekhov's pastoral comedies, the production marks playwright Margulies' 10th play for MTC.

The Country House was commissioned by MTC through the U.S. Trust New American Play Commissioning Program. The play received a world premiere co-production by Geffen Playhouse and Manhattan Theatre Club at Geffen Playhouse in June.

The creative team includes John Lee Beatty (scenic design), Rita Ryack (costume design), Peter Kaczorowski (lighting design), Obadiah Eaves (sound design), Peter Golub (original music) and Thomas Schall (fight director).

For subscription information visit Single tickets will go on sale via Aug. 14 and at the Friedman Theatre Box Office (261 West 47th Street) on Aug. 25 at noon.