PHOTO CALL: Nathan Tysen and Arthur Perlman Receive 24th Annual Kleban Prizes

By Krissie Fullerton
26 Jun 2014

Lyricist Nathan Tysen and librettist Arthur Perlman received the 24th annual Kleban Prize June 23 in a private, invitation-only ceremony hosted by ASCAP and BMI.

The Kleban Foundation previously announced that Tysen will receive the Kleban Prize for the most promising musical theatre lyricist, and Perlman will receive the Kleban Prize for the most promising musical theatre librettist.

The Kleban Foundation was established in 1988 under the will of Edward L. Kleban, the Tony and Pulitzer Prize-winning lyricist of A Chorus Line. The will made provisions for two annual prizes, which in recent years have totaled $100,000 each, payable over two years, to be given to the most promising lyricist and librettist in American musical theatre.

This year's judges included Jason Danieley (Next to Normal, Curtains, The Full Monty, Candide), Colleen Jennings-Roggensack (executive director of Arizona State University Gammage and assistant vice president for Cultural Affairs) and Broadway cast recording executive producer and playwright Bill Rosenfield (original cast recordings of Chicago, Avenue Q, The Last Five Years, Cabaret, Ragtime and more).

Here's a look at the ceremony:

View the Entire Photo Gallery
Standing - Pianist David Caldwell, actor Marcus Stevens, composer Chris Miller, actor Alyse Alan Louis, actor Jay Armstrong Johnson, actor Andrew Keenan Bolger. Seated - 2013-2014 Kleban Prize winning lyricist Nathan Tysen and librettist Arthur Perlman.
Photo by Davyd S. Suber

Submission guidelines and an application for the 2015 Kleban Prize are available on the New Dramatists website,