PHOTO CALL: Stage and Screen Stars Walk the 2012 Emmy Award Red Carpet

Comedian Jimmy Kimmel hosted the 64th Primetime Emmy Awards, which were presented live from the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles Sept. 23. Here is a look at the star-studded red carpet. Read the

“Modern Family” took home top honors at the 2012 ceremony, winning awards for Outstanding Comedy Series, Supporting Actor (Eric Stonestreet), Supporting Actress (Julie Bowen) and Outstanding Direction (Steven Levitan). “Game Change” was awarded Outstanding Miniseries or Movie, and “Homeland” received Outstanding Drama Series.

Click here for full list of winners.

Claire Danes, who starred in Broadway’s Pygmalion, took home the award for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series for her work in Showtime’s “Homeland,” and Maggie Smith, a Tony Award winner for Lettice and Lovage, received the award for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for “Downton Abbey.”

Other theatre-related wins included Glenn Weiss for Outstanding Direction for a Variety Special for the 65th Annual Tony Awards; Jessica Lange ( The Glass Menagerie) for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie for “American Horror Story”; and Julianne Moore ( The Vertical Hour) for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or Movie for “Game Change.” As previously reported, winners of the 2012 Creative Arts Primetime Emmy Awards were announced Sept. 15. They included theatre choreographer Joshua Bergasse ("Smash"), music director Rob Berman ("The Kennedy Center Honors"), songwriters Adam Schlesinger and David Javerbaum (the 2011 Tony Awards) and more.

Presenters at the ceremony included Tony nominee Kathy Bates, Jimmy Fallon, Steve Buscemi, Stephen Colbert, Seth MacFarlane, Aziz Ansari, Kat Dennings, Jane Levy, Hayden Panettiere, Matthew Perry, James Van Der Beek, Damon Wayans, Jr., Andre Braugher, Connie Britton, Louis C.K., Jon Cryer, Claire Danes, Jeremy Davies, Zooey Deschanel, Giancarlo Esposito, Tina Fey, Michael J. Fox, Ricky Gervais, Ginnifer Goodwin, Jon Hamm, Ron Howard, Mindy Kaling, Lucy Liu, Julianna Margulies, Melissa McCarthy, Julianne Moore, Jim Parsons, Tony nominee Martha Plimpton, Amy Poehler, Kiefer Sutherland, Emily Van Camp and Kerry Washington.