PHOTO CALL: Vanessa Redgrave, Michael Douglas, Leslie Uggams and More Honor James Earl Jones at O'Neill Theatre Center Gala

The Eugene O'Neill Theatre Center honored actor James Earl Jones with its 11th annual Monte Cristo Award in recognition of his achievements and contribution to the American and international theatre community on May 9.

“James Earl Jones defines the ethos of the Monte Cristo Award – pioneering, artistically excellent, and a commitment to the stage. His connection to the O’Neill and the late Lloyd Richards is deep, and I look forward to a fantastic and fun evening in May," O'Neill executive director Preston Whiteway said in a statement.

Here's a look at the evening:


Previous Monte Cristo recipients include Harold Prince, Kevin Spacey, Neil Simon, Jason Robards, Jr., Edward Albee, August Wilson, Zoe Caldwell, Brian Dennehy, Karl Malden, Arthur & Barbara Gelb and Wendy Wasserstein.