PHOTO CALL: John Kander, Sheldon Harnick, Karen Ziemba, Judy Kuhn Celebrate Fred Ebb Award Winner Douglas J. Cohen

By Matthew Blank
November 30, 2010

Composer-lyricist and librettist Douglas J. Cohen was presented with the sixth annual Fred Ebb Award for Musical Theatre Songwriting Nov. 29 in the Penthouse Lobby of The American Airlines Theater. John Kander, Sheldon Harnick, Karen Ziemba and more were on hand.

Cohen penned the score to the Broadway-aimed musical The Big Time, which features a book by Tony Award nominee Douglas Carter Beane (Xanadu, The Little Dog Laughed). He earned two Richard Rodgers Awards and the Gilman & Gonzalez-Falla Theatre Foundation Award for writing book, music and lyrics to No Way to Treat a Lady and was awarded the York Theater Company's inaugural Noël Coward Prize as a "triple threat" writer for book, music and lyrics to The Gig.


Here is a look at the celebration:

View the Entire Photo Gallery
Sheldon Harnick and Douglas J. Cohen
Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN


The Fred Ebb Foundation and the Roundabout Theatre Company administer the annual honor that recognizes excellence in musical theatre songwriting by a lyricist, composer, or songwriting team who have not yet achieved significant commercial success. The Fred Ebb Award comes with a $50,000 prize.

Previous Fred Ebb Award winners include John Bucchino (2005), Steve Lutvak and Robert L. Freedman (2006), Peter Mills (2007), Adam Gwon (2008), and Marcy Heisler and Zina Goldrich (2009).