Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson, Chad Deity, Angels, Christian Borle, Laurie Metcalf Are Lortel Winners

By Kenneth Jones
May 1, 2011

Winners of the 2011 Lucille Lortel Awards, representing excellence Off-Broadway, were announced on May 1. Christian Borle of Peter and the Starcatcher and Laurie Metcalf of The Other Place are among recipients.

Read the earlier story about the nominees here. The Lortel winners in the 2010-11 theatre season are:


Outstanding Play
The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity - Produced by Second Stage Theatre; Written by Kristoffer Diaz

Outstanding Musical
Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson - Produced by The Public Theater and Center Theatre Group in association with Les Freres Corbusier; Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman, Book by Alex Timbers

Outstanding Solo Show
Mike Birbiglia's My Girlfriend's Boyfriend - Produced by Ron Delsener and Mike Lavoie; Written and Performed by Mike Birbiglia

Outstanding Revival
Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes/Part 1: Millennium Approaches, Part 2: Perestroika - Produced by Signature Theatre Company; Written by Tony Kushner

Outstanding Director
John Collins, Gatz

Outstanding Choreographer
Steven Hoggett, Peter and the Starcatcher

Outstanding Lead Actor
Christian Borle, Peter and the Starcatcher

Outstanding Lead Actress
Laurie Metcalf, The Other Place

Outstanding Featured Actor
Thomas Sadoski, Other Desert Cities

Outstanding Featured Actress
Kristen Schaal, The Coward

Outstanding Scenic Design
Donyale Werle, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson

Outstanding Costume Design
Gabriel Berry, The Coward

Outstanding Lighting Design
Ben Stanton, The Whipping Man

Outstanding Sound Design
Mikhail Fiksel, The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity

Special Awards
Lifetime Achievement Award: Lynne Meadow

Service to Off-Broadway Award: Gary Glaser

Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience: Gatz - Produced by The Public Theater