They Write the Songs Will Feature Works by Lynn Ahrens & Stephen Flaherty, Joe Iconis and More

By Carey Purcell
October 23, 2013

The Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs will present the second annual MAC Presents They Write the Songs Nov. 17 at 4 PM at the Engelman Recital Hall at the Baruch Performing Arts Center.

Hosted by Grammy Award-winning songwriter Julie Gold, the event will feature works by Lynn Ahrens & Stephen Flaherty, Marcy Heisler & Zina Goldrich, Joe Iconis, Bobby Cronin, Sam Carner & Derek Gregor, Lois Morton and Andrew Sotomayor.

Steven Ray Watkins will be the musical director. Performers will be announced at a later date.

"This annual show presents the work of selected songwriters, highlighting both those who are well-established, and those who are on the rise and creating great new work," press notes state. "Songs written by these outstanding songwriters will be performed throughout the show by singers who have previously either won or been nominated for MAC Awards, or in some cases, by the songwriters themselves."

MAC will also announce the 2013 recipients of the two annual songwriting awards presented by MAC each year – the Dottie Burman Award and the John Wallowitch Award. Songs written by these recipients will also be performed at the show.

Tickets can be purchased by visiting

For more information about MAC, visit