Kinky Boots Tony Winner Billy Porter to Release Album of Inspirational Broadway Anthems

By Adam Hetrick
February 26, 2014

Tony Award-winning Kinky Boots star Billy Porter will release his third solo album, "Billy's Back on Broadway," a collection of inspirational songs from the stage.

Set to be released April 15 from Concord Records, the album will feature songs from such musicals as Funny Girl, Dreamgirls, Guys and Dolls, Gypsy and more. Each song will deliver the message of "inspiration, empowerment and hope."

Tony Award-winning Kinky Boots composer-lyricist Lauper will also join Porter on the album for a cover of the iconic Judy Garland/Barbra Streisand duet "Happy Days/Get Happy."

"I’ve said it before and I'll say it again. Cyndi is one of the godmothers of individuality," Porter said in a statement. “She forged a path for so many of us that didn’t fit into the status quo. I learned so much and have felt so inspired by her journey as an artist and human being before I even knew her. She’s a blessing and a gift, and I’m so thrilled she said ‘yes’ when I asked her to sing on this album."

Porter won the 2013 Best Actor in a Musical Tony Award for creating the role of drag performer Lola in the hit musical Kinky Boots

Read the Playbill feature: Kinky Boots' Billy Porter on the Cast Albums That Changed His Life and Words for His Younger Self.

The track list for "Billy's Back on Broadway" follows:

1. But The World Goes Round
2. Everything’s Coming Up Roses
3. Don’t Rain On My Parade
4. On The Street Where You Live
5. I’ve Gotta Be Me
6. I’m Not My Father’s Son
7. Happy Days/Get Happy (w/Cyndi Lauper)
8. Luck Be A Lady
9. Take The Moment
10. I Am Changing

"The canon of great Broadway songs is so vast and I have so many favorites that the only way I could narrow them down was to choose a theme,” Porter said in a statement. "Once I settled on what I wanted to say and the journey I wanted the listener to take, the songs made their presence known rather quickly."

Porter's previous albums include "Untitled," on A&M Records; and "At The Corner of Broadway + Soul" on the Sh-K-Boom Records label.