Pulitzer Prize Winner Clybourne Park Will Play Broadway in Spring 2012

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
08 Sep 2011

Crystal A. Dickinson and Annie Parisse in the 2010 Off-Broadway production of <i>Clybourne Park.</i>
Crystal A. Dickinson and Annie Parisse in the 2010 Off-Broadway production of Clybourne Park.
Photo by Joan Marcus

The Center Theatre Group/Mark Taper Forum's January 2012 production of Bruce Norris' Pulitzer Prize-winning Clybourne Park will move to Broadway to open in spring 2012, CTG announced.

Pam MacKinnon, who staged the 2010 world premiere of Norris' postmodern riff on A Raisin in the Sun (at Playwrights Horizons Off-Broadway), will again direct. The new production will play Los Angeles' Taper Jan. 11-Feb. 26, 2012. The opening is set for Jan. 25. It will then move to Broadway.

The 2011 Pulitzer Prize and Olivier Award-winning Clybourne Park borrows elements from Lorraine Hansberry's groundbreaking A Raisin in the Sun to offer a "powerful work whose memorable characters speak in witty and perceptive ways to America's sometimes toxic struggle with race and class consciousness," as the 2011 Pulitzer committee put it.

According to CTG, "In 1959, the house, which is located in a white neighborhood at 406 Clybourne St. in Chicago, is sold to an African-American family (the Younger family in A Raisin in the Sun). Then, in 2009, after the neighborhood changed into an African-American community, the house is sold to a white couple. It is through this prism of property ownership that Norris' lacerating sense of humor dissects race relations and middle class hypocrisies in America."

Casting and full creative team will be announced.

Other plays by Bruce Norris include The Infidel (2000), Purple Heart (2002), We All Went Down to Amsterdam (2003 – Joseph Jefferson Award for Best New Work), The Pain and the Itch (2004 – Jefferson Award) and The Unmentionables (2006), all of which premiered at Steppenwolf Theatre. His work has also been produced at Lookingglass Theatre, Philadelphia Theatre Company, Woolly Mammoth Theatre (Washington, DC), The Royal Court Theatre (London) and The Staatstheater Mainz (Germany). He is the recipient of the 2009 Steinberg Playwright Award, the Whiting Foundation Prize for Drama, and the Kesselring Prize, Honorable Mention.