Recording of 35mm, With Lindsay Mendez, Betsy Wolfe and Alex Brightman, Gets Aug. 14 Digital Release

The cast album of Ryan Scott Oliver's 35mm: A Musical Exhibition, featuring Lindsay Mendez, Betsy Wolfe, Alex Brightman, Ben Crawford and Jay Armstrong Johnson, is released Aug. 14 via digital download from Ghostlight Records.

Alex Brightman
Alex Brightman (Photo by Matthew Murphy)

The cast recording of 35mm is produced by Dean Sharenow and Oliver. It was recorded March 8, following the production's extended run at the Galapagos Art Space in Brooklyn. The album will arrive in stores Sept. 11.

In addition, a mid-September album release concert is in the works, with details to be announced shortly.

Jeremy Bloom directed the production that featured Brightman (Wicked), Crawford (Shrek), Johnson (Hands On a Hard Body, Hair), Mendez (Dogfight) and Wolfe (The Mystery of Edwin Drood, Everyday Rapture).

The songs were inspired by the photographs of Matthew Murphy.

"In 35mm, photos inspire songs," Oliver said. "Sometimes the songs tell the stories of the photographs; other times the feeling, mood, or tone was captured; and in still others, the photographs are doorways into worlds by which a song comes to life. The collaboration was seamless and we hope it creates a new kind of link betweem music and image for all who hear it." "Representing a collision of artistic disciplines as disparate as musical theatre, photography, and pop/rock music," 35mm, according to press notes, "pushes the limits of self-expression to create an art form utterly its own. A collection of 'snapshot stories' are woven together as each of the evening’s original songs is performed – with gusto and musical virtuosity — while the audience is immersed in stunning projections of the photography that inspired it. 35mm brings the connection between pleasures visual and aural into razor-sharp focus, creating a singular, multi-sensory emotional journey."

The track list follows:

"Stop Time"
"Transition 1"
"On Monday"
"The Party Goes With You"
"Good Lady"
"Transition 2"
"Make Me Happy"
"The Seraph"
"Immaculate Deception"
"Transition 3"
"Leave, Luanne"
"Mama, Let Me In"
"Why, Must We Tell Them Why"
"Twisted Teeth"
"Hemming and Hawing"
"Transition 4"
"Cut You a Piece"
"Transition 5"
"The Ballad of Sara Berry"

The production had music direction by Michael Borth and a band that included Matt Hinkley on acoustic/electric guitars, Allison Seidner on electric cello, Joseph Wallace on bass, Rich Silverstein on keyboard, Hiroko "Coco" Taguchi on electric violin/viola and Jeremy Yaddaw on drums/percussion.

Pre-order the album at


Betsy Wolfe, Alex Brightman, Lindsay Mendez, Jay Armstrong Johnson and Ben Crawford
Betsy Wolfe, Alex Brightman, Lindsay Mendez, Jay Armstrong Johnson and Ben Crawford (Photo by Matthew Murphy)