Richard Griffiths, Edward Albee and Alan Bennett Among Evening Standard Theatre Award Nominees

The list of nominations has been announced for the Evening Standard Drama Awards. The awards are among the most prestigious British theatre awards, with only the Oliviers and the Critics’ Circle Awards really in competition. The winners will be announced in a ceremony at the National’s Olivier Theatre on Monday Dec.13.

Richard Griffiths in The History Boys
Richard Griffiths in The History Boys (Photo by Ivan Kyncl)

The nominations are as follows: Best Actor
Richard Griffiths for The History Boys at the National Theatre
Douglas Hodge for Dumb Show at the Royal Court
Stanley Townsend for Shining City at the Royal Court.

Best Actress
Pam Ferris for Notes on Falling Leaves at the Royal Court
Victoria Hamilton for Suddenly Last Summer at the Albery
Kelly Reilly for After Miss Julie at the Donmar Warehouse.

Best Play
The Goat, Or Who is Sylvia? by Edward Albee at the Apollo Theatre
The Pillowman by Martin McDonagh at the NT
The History Boys by Alan Bennett at the NT.

Best Director
Luc Bondy for Cruel And Tender at the Young Vic
Simon McBurney for Measure For Measure at the NT
Rufus Norris for Festen at the Almeida and later Lyric.

Best Stage Designer
Ian MacNeil, Jean Kalman and Paul Arditti for Festen at the Almeida and later Lyric
Hildegard Bechtler for Iphigenia At Aulis at the NT
Paul Brown for The False Servant at the NT.

Best Musical
The Producers at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane
Sweeney Todd at the Trafalgar Studios and later New Ambassador’s
A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum at the NT.

Award tor New Playwriting
David Eldridge
Rebecca Lenkeiwicz
Owen McCafferty

Outstanding Newcomer
Dominic Cooper for His Dark Materials and later The History Boys both at the NT
Romola Garai for Calico at the Duke Of York’s
Eddie Redmayne for The Goat, Or Who Is Sylvia? at the Apollo
Ben Wishaw for Hamlet at the Old Vic.

Three special awards will also be given.