Satellite Awards Honors "12 Years a Slave," "Gravity," Matthew McConaughey, Cate Blanchett and More

The 18th annual Satellite Awards were held Feb. 23 at the InterContinental Hotel in Los Angeles, CA. 

Cate Blanchett
Cate Blanchett

Hosted by the International Press Academy, a global association of professional entertainment journalists representing print, broadcast and digital media outlets, the awards honored "12 Years a Slave" with best picture. The film's director, Steve McQueen, won best director.

"Gravity" received three film trophies, for score, visual effects and sound.

"Dallas Buyers Club" actors Matthew McConaughey and Jared Leto were named best actor and supporting actor awards, respectively, while Cate Blanchett won best actress for "Blue Jasmine" and June Squibb won best supporting actress for "Nebraska."

"Breaking Bad" was named best drama series, and "Orange Is the New Black" won best comedy series. "Game of Thrones" was honored as best genre series.

Mike Medavoy received the Mary Pickford Award, Garrett Brown was presented with the Tesla Award and Guillermo del Toro received the Auteur Award. Gabrielle Tana was given the Independent Producer of the Year Award and Ryan Coogler was presented with the Honorary Satellite Award.

Visit for a complete list of winners and more information.