Sharaff Awards to Honor Carrie Robbins, Lloyd Burlingame, Matthew LeFebvre and Lynn Pecktal

Tony Award-nominated costume designer Carrie Robbins and scenic, costume and lighting designer Lloyd Burlingame will be honored during the Irene Sharaff Awards May 4 at the Hudson Theatre.

Carrie Robbins
Carrie Robbins

Robbins ( Yentl, A Class Act, Irving Berlin's White Christmas, Cyrano, The Shadow Box, Agnes of God), whose career has spanned over 40 years, will receive the 2012 TDF/Irene Sharaff Lifetime Achievement Award for costume design.

Burlingame ( A Day in the Death of Joe Egg, Boeing-Boeing, Moon on a Rainbow Shawl, Philadelphia, Here I Come!) will receive the Robert L.B. Tobin Award for Sustained Excellence in Theatrical Design.

Also honored during the ceremony will be costume designer Matthew LeFebvre (TDF/Irene Sharaff Young Master Award) and author-designer Lynn Pecktal (TDF/Irene Sharaff Artisan Award).

The ceremony will include a screening of an original short film by Suzy Benzinger, paying tribute to late designers William and Jean Eckart.

Founded in 1993, the awards pay tribute to the art of costume design and honor legendary designer Irene Sharaff, who designed numerous Broadway productions, including the original stagings of Lady in the Dark, West Side Story, The King and I, Juno, Sweet Charity, Funny Girl, Candide and Jerome Robbins' Broadway.

For further information visit