Starting in 2007-08, Sound Designers Will Be Recognized by Tony Awards

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
19 Jun 2007

The coveted Tony Award statue.
The coveted Tony Award statue.
There will be two new Tony Awards in 2008, the Tony Awards Administration Committee announced June 19. The committee met for the first time this season to vote on the addition of two new competitive categories — Best Sound Design of a Play and Best Sound Design of a Musical.

The 2007-08 season's productions will be eligible for the newly announced categories. With the inclusion of these new categories, there will now be a total of 27 competitive categories for which qualifying productions will be in contention.

Celebrating their 62nd Anniversary, the 2008 Tony Awards will be broadcast in a live three-hour ceremony on CBS-TV on a date to be announced at a later time.


The Tonys are presented by the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing. At the League, Gerald Schoenfeld is chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is executive director. At the Wing, Sondra Gilman is chairman, Doug Leeds is president and Howard Sherman is executive director.

For Tony Award Productions, Elizabeth I. McCann is managing producer and Joey Parnes is coordinating producer.

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss/White Cherry Entertainment are executive producers of the 2008 Tony Awards. Weiss will also serve as director of the 2008 Tony Awards.

The 2007 awards were held June 10 at Radio City Music Hall.

The official Tony Awards web site,, developed, designed, and hosted by IBM, an official partner of the Tonys. News and feature content is provided in cooperation with