Susan Stroman, Sutton Foster and Norbert Leo Butz Win Astaire Awards

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
16 May 2011

Susan Stroman
Susan Stroman
Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Susan Stroman, Sutton Foster and Norbert Leo Butz are the winners of the 2011 Fred & Adele Astaire Awards, which were presented May 15 in Manhattan.

The annual honors, which recognize excellence in dance on Broadway and in film, were held at the Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. Bebe Neuwirth and Lee Roy Reams hosted the ceremony.

The 2011 Astaire Awards nominees and winners (in bold with an asterisk) follow:

Rob Ashford (How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying)
Marguerite Derricks (Wonderland)
Kathleen Marshall (Anything Goes)
Jerry Mitchell (Catch Me if You Can)
Toby Sedgwick (War Horse)
*Susan Stroman (The Scottsboro Boys)
Anthony Van Laast (Sister Act)
Danny Mefford (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson)
Casey Nicholaw (The Book of Mormon)

Rachel de Benedet (Catch Me if You Can)
*Sutton Foster (Anything Goes)
Jennifer Frankel (Catch Me if You Can)
J. Elaine Marcos (Pricilla Queen of the Desert)
Patina Miller (Sister Act)
Laura Osnes (Anything Goes)
Angie Schworer (Catch Me if You Can)
Megan Sikora (How to Succeed)
Samantha Zack (How to Succeed)

Nick Adams (Priscilla, Queen of the Desert)
*Norbert Leo Butz (Catch Me if You Can)
Colman Domingo (The Scottsboro Boys)
Colin Donnell (Anything Goes)
Josh Gad (The Book of Mormon)
Joshua Henry (Scottsboro Boys)
Daniel Radcliffe (How to Succeed)
Aaron Tveit (Catch Me if You Can)

Benjamin Millepied ("Black Swan")
Denise Faye/Joe Pizzi ("Burlesque")
Michael Flatley ("Lord of the Dance 3D")
*Graeme Murphy/Janet Vernon ("Mao's Last Dancer")
Jamal Sims ("Step It Up 3D")
Benoit-Swan Pouffer ("The Adjustment Bureau")

The 2011 nominating committee was chaired by Sylviane Gold and includes members Anna Kisselgoff, Damian Woetzel, Wendy Perron, Manny and Lani Azenberg, Donna McKechnie, Lee Roy Reams, Wendy Federman, Barbara and Buddy Freitag, Michael Riedel, Marge Champion, Margaret Selby, Melinda Atwood, Bryan Bantry, Adam Zotovich, Andy Sandberg and Bruce Michael.

Jacques D’amboise is the recipient of the 2011 Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award.