Theatre World Awards Will Be Presented at Belasco Theatre; Initial List of Presenters Announced

The 68th annual Theatre World Awards will be presented June 5 at 2 PM at Broadway's Belasco Theatre.

Tracie Bennett
Tracie Bennett (Photo by Carol Rosegg)

Theatre World Awards producers Erin Oestreich and Mary K. Botosan announced May 23 that this year’s presenters will include Theatre World Award winners Leslie Uggams, Tony Sheldon, David Alan Grier, John Rubinstein, Wesley Taylor and Lizbeth Mackay (with more presenters to be announced). Peter Filichia will again host.

Stacy Keach will present The Dorothy Loudon Award.

The 2012 Theatre World Award winners for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway debut performances during the 2011-12 theatrical season were announced May 8.

The winners follow:

Tracie Bennett ( End of the Rainbow)
Phillip Boykin ( The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess)
Crystal A. Dickinson ( Clybourne Park)
Russell Harvard ( Tribes)
Jeremy Jordan ( Bonnie & Clyde)
Joaquina Kalukango ( Hurt Village)
Jennifer Lim ( Chinglish)
Jessie Mueller ( On a Clear Day You Can See Forever)
Hettienne Park ( Seminar and The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide to Capitalism & Socialism with a Key to the Scriptures) (This award is for two shows – Park made her debut both on and Off-Broadway in the same season.)
Chris Perfetti ( Sons of the Prophet)
Finn Wittrock ( Death of a Salesman)
Josh Young ( Jesus Christ Superstar) The winner of The 2012 Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater is Susan Pourfar ( Tribes).

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are the oldest awards given for outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances. The winners are chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee, currently comprising David Cote (Time Out New York and NY1), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger), Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin’ Broadway), Frank Scheck (New York Post) and Linda Winer (Newsday).

The Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater "honors an outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway performance."

For more information visit