Tony Committee Offers Rulings on Good People, Championship Season, Arcadia; Kathy Griffin Not Eligible

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
31 Mar 2011

Frances McDormand will be eligible in the category of Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role.
Frances McDormand will be eligible in the category of Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role.
Photo by Joan Marcus

The Tony Awards Administration Committee assembled March 31 for the third time of the 2010-11 season to discuss the eligibility of three Broadway productions for the 2011 Tony Awards, presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

The productions discussed include Good People, That Championship Season and Arcadia. has also learned that despite the title of her show, Emmy-winning comedian Kathy Griffin will not be eligible for a Tony Award. Kathy Griffin Wants a Tony, which played a limited engagement earlier this month at the Belasco Theatre, did not meet eligibility requirements, according to a Tony spokesperson.

Other rulings follow:

On the play front:

Frances McDormand will be considered eligible in the category of Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play for her performance in Good People.

Jim Gaffigan, Chris Noth, Jason Patric and Kiefer Sutherland will all be considered eligible in the category of Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Play for their respective performances in That Championship Season.

All other decisions were consistent with the opening-night credits. That is, only actors whose names appear above the title are eligible for nomination in the Leading Actor/Actress categories. Producers must petition the Administration Committee in order to change actors' eligibility status.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee includes ten members designated by the Wing, ten by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists, and the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society. This committee "determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories, reviews the rules governing the awards, and appoints the Nominating Committee. It may, at its discretion, bestow [four] non-competitive Tony Awards: Special Tony Awards and the Regional Theatre Tony Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre and the Isabelle Stevenson Award."

The 2010-2011 committee comprises Emanuel Azenberg, Roger Berlind, Ted Chapin, Bill Craver, Dasha Epstein, Cecilia Friederichs, Philip Getter, Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, Doug Leeds, Paul Libin, Margo Lion, Jo Sullivan Loesser, Kevin McCollum, James L. Nederlander, James M. Nederlander, Enid Nemy, Laura Penn, Michael Price, Charlotte St. Martin, Ralph Sevush, Howard Sherman, Philip Smith and David Stone. Alan Eisenberg also currently represents Actors' Equity at these meetings.

The American Theatre Wing's 65th Annual Tony Awards will air on CBS June 12 at 8 PM ET live from the Beacon Theatre in New York City. 

The awards, Broadway's highest honor, have been broadcast on CBS since 1978.  This will be the first year that the show will be broadcast from The Beacon Theatre, which is part of the Madison Square Garden portfolio of venues. (As previously reported, Radio City Music Hall, the home of the Tony Awards for the past several years, is unavailable for this year's awards show.)

Broadway productions must open by April 28 to be eligible for nomination in the 2010-2011 season.

The Tony Awards are presented by the American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League.

For more information visit