Tony Rulings: Eligibility Discussed for Cinderella and Cat On a Hot Tin Roof

The Tony Awards Administration Committee assembled March 21 for the third time this season to determine the eligibility of two Broadway productions for the 2013 American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards, presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

Laura Osnes stars in the Broadway production
Laura Osnes stars in the Broadway production (Photo by Carol Rosegg)

The Committee will meet a total of four times throughout the 2012-13 season to decide the eligibility for the 2013 Tony Awards.

The two productions discussed were Cat on a Hot Tin Roof and Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella. The committee made the following determinations:

Laura Osnes and Santino Fontana will be considered eligible in the Best Performance by a Leading Actress/Actor in a Musical categories for their respective performances in Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella.

The new book of Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella by Douglas Carter Beane will be considered eligible in the category of Best Book of a Musical.

Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella will be considered eligible in the category of Best Revival of a Musical. All other eligibility determinations were consistent with the opening-night credits. That is, only actors whose names appear above the title are eligible for nomination in the Leading Actor/Actress categories. (Those billed above the title in Cat On a Hot Tin Roof are Scarlett Johansson, Benjamin Walker and Ciaran Hinds.) Producers must petition the Administration Committee in order to change actors' eligibility status.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee features 24 members, ten designated by the American Theatre Wing, ten by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists and the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society. This committee, according to the Tony Awards, "determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories, reviews the rules governing the awards, and appoints the Nominating Committee. It may, at its discretion, bestow non-competitive Tony Awards including Special Tony Awards, the Regional Theatre Tony Award, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre."

The 2013 Tony Awards will be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall June 9 beginning at 8 PM on CBS.

Nominations will be announced April 30 at 8:30 AM at The New York Public Library for Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center.

For more information visit