Tony Rulings: Five Shows Discussed, Including Beautiful and Outside Mullingar

The Tony Awards Administration Committee met March 20 for the third time this season to determine the eligibility of five Broadway productions for the 68th Annual Tony Awards.

The Administration Committee will meet a total of four times throughout the 2013-14 season to decide the eligibility for the 2014 Tony Awards.

The five productions discussed include Beautiful – The Carole King Musical, Machinal, Outside Mullingar, Bronx Bombers and The Bridges of Madison County.

The committee made the following determinations:

Jessie Mueller will be considered eligible in the Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical category for her performance in Beautiful – The Carole King Musical.

Debra Messing and Brían F. O’Byrne will be considered eligible in the Best Performance by an Actress/Actor in a Leading Role in a Play categories, respectively, for their performances in Outside Mullingar. All other eligibility determinations were consistent with the show’s opening-night credits. That is, only actors whose names appear above the title are eligible for nomination in the Leading Actor/Actress categories. Producers must petition the Administration Committee in order to change actors' eligibility status.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee features 24 members, ten designated by the American Theatre Wing, ten by the Broadway League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers.

This committee, according to the Tony Awards, "determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories and reviews the rules governing the awards. It may, at its discretion, bestow non-competitive Tony Awards including Special Tony Awards, the Regional Theatre Tony Award, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre."

The 2014 Tony Awards will be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall June 8 at 8 PM ET on CBS. Tony winner Hugh Jackman will again host.

For more information on the 68th Annual Tony Awards, visit