Zachary Quinto and Matt Bomer Will Introduce New Educator Honor at 2014 Tony Awards

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
03 Jun 2014

The Glass Menagerie's Zachary Quinto and "The Normal Heart" star Matt Bomer, both Carnegie Mellon University alumni, will debut an educator honor at the 68th Annual Tony Awards, which will air June 8 on CBS.

During the live broadcast, Quinto and Bomer will introduce the creation of the Tony Honor for Excellence in Theatre Education presented by Carnegie Mellon University, which is the first, national recognition program to honor kindergarten through high school (K-12) theatre educators.

The award follows the university's announcement in April that it will collaborate with the Tony Awards as its first, exclusive higher education partner. Nominations for theatre educators will be accepted online this fall, and the first recipient will be honored at the 2015 Tony Awards.

CMU’s School of Drama is the oldest drama degree-granting program in the United States and celebrates its centennial in 2014. In the past century, CMU has produced hundreds of Tony nominees and 31 Tony winners, including eight winners in 2013.

This year, six CMU alumni have been nominated for a Tony: Paula Wagner as a producer for Best Play for Mothers and Sons, Jamie deRoy ('67) as a producer for Best Musical for A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder, Cherry Jones ('78) for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play for The Glass Menagerie, Sutton Foster for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical for Violet, Peter Hylenski ('97) for Best Sound Design of a Musical for After Midnight and Leigh Silverman ('96) for Best Direction of a Musical for Violet.

Wagner and fellow CMU alum Billy Porter ('91), a 2013 Tony Award winner, will join CMU’s College of Fine Arts Dean Dan Martin "for an on-stage presentation celebrating arts and theatre education, and its vital role in developing the next great generation of actors, directors, producers and all theatre professionals," according to press notes.

The 68th Annual Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.